An announcement.

Standard

(I’m putting this in a separate post from all the vacation shenanigans because I don’t want it to get buried.)

Because apparently I like making more work for myself than I need, I’m doing another one of those class project things this semester, like I did with Lucy Audley’s Secret.  This time, the class broadly concerns memory studies and issues of cultural memory and nostalgia in the media, and the project… well.

If you know me at all, you probably know how woefully behind on pop culture I am.  You may have even stared at me, dumbfounded, and said, “You didn’t watch that?!”, to which I probably replied, “I basically wasn’t even alive in the ’90s.”  And it’s not entirely an exaggeration, either.  I missed a lot while I was homeschooled.  So with this project, I’m at least putting a dent in the frighteningly long list of Things I Missed in the ’90s.  Over the next few weeks, I’ll be watching MatildaBuffy the Vampire Slayer, and Groundhog Day, as well as listening to No Doubt’s Tragic Kingdom–and livetweeting everything, so keep an eye on Twitter.  These essays will be posted on a website that is currently under construction.  The ultimate purpose of this project is twofold:  to understand the particular breed of nostalgia that manifests itself among the self-styled ’90s kids, and to make sense of my own childhood and how it’s shaped me.

Now, I actually need your help with one part of this thing:  a title.  I’ve wracked my brain for weeks, and I still cannot come up with a title for the project to save my life.  I am open to any and all suggestions, and if you (yes, you) suggest the title I end up using, you’ll get a shoutout on the site and my undying gratitude ❤

So that’s the latest manifestation of my tendency towards extreme academic overcommitment!  Hit me up with your best title suggestions, in the comments or on Facebook or via carrier pigeon.

Leave a Reply

