Canada, weeks 18 and 19 and 20… I think?

Standard

Man, I’m losing track of time here.

Ugh, anyway, I had a draft all written out here (on mobile, for reasons), and then my app decided to be glitchy so I had to un/re-install, which deleted the local draft, and frankly I’ve had so much technology trouble over the past month that my reaction was pretty much just “oh, of course.” All that to say: I am nonetheless bringing you Content(TM) for the first time in a while. I know I said it wouldn’t ever be this long before I updated again, but this semester has absolutely been eating my lunch. In a good way, mostly, but still.

So, without further ado, here’s some of the stuff I’ve gotten up to in the past, god, almost three weeks:

Data Que/e/ries: I’m taking a class on big data this semester, and a few weeks ago, my classmates and I each gave short presentations at a seminar my professor organized. The topics themselves, while not necessarily in my normal academic wheelhouse, were fascinating (one group talked about data companions, ranging from your average smartphone to BB-8 or Data), and the visiting scholars had so many fascinating things to say about the subjects at hand.

The Mac Dance showoff: I finally got to show off my ballet and tap dances! While performing was fun, though, I’m really feeling the void that Mac dance classes have left in my life and my schedule. Thank goodness for swing dancing class.

Sunset Boulevard rehearsals have officially started! We had our first vocal rehearsal on Sunday. Considering one of the songs we worked on, “Let’s Have Lunch,” is pretty much the worst game of choral Round Robin ever (seriously, Andrew Lloyd Webber, did you have to change the time signature every measure?), things went smashingly well, and I’m super excited for the show. 🙂

More Toronto sights:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I GOT TO RIDE A FERRY: Yeah, sure, the ride lasted all of two minutes, but it was still fun and I got some killer views of the Six.

Coffee: Dineen Coffee Co. is at Yonge and Temperance. The interior is the perfect mix of marble and filigreed Gatsby-style metal grills and reclaimed industrial parts… oh, and their iced vanilla chai is pretty good, too.

Food: I haven’t been anywhere special lately, but I did find out recently that 7-Eleven taquitos are comparable to QuikTrip taquitos. Not quite as good, but sufficient. (God, I miss QuikTrip.)

Music: Sorry if these links don’t work like they usually do. I’ll fix them once I get back on Majel.

That’s all I’ve got for now! I’m actually out of town till Saturday for reading week, relishing first Madison and then Chicago, so next week’s post (and there will be one, I promise!) will recap those shenanigans. There will be art museum Snapchats. Get excited. 😀

Leave a Reply

