Canada, week 6

Standard

Happy Canadian Thanksgiving!

20161010_183408

me being thankful for blankets and pillows and couches and sleep

It’s also reading week here at Mac, which means I get my first actual fall break since high school.  (Sorry, OU, Texas weekend doesn’t count.)  Technically it’s unofficial for grad students, but what matters is that I get a solid week off of classes…

…during which I have more work to do.  Yay.

This week’s recap is going to be a little scanty.  Between grading papers, working on my lit review, and the obvious fact of barely anything being open on a holiday weekend, I’ve pretty much been a pajama-clad homebody lately.  But I did do a couple cool things this week, so without further ado:

Locke Street is so cute, seriously.  I mainly just walked its length, with a couple coffee-shaped waystops, but I’m definitely going back in the near future.

20161008_165630

Anybody noticing a pattern here?

Mac Dance Team started classes this week, and I am ALIVE.  I’m so glad to be back at dance, it’s ridiculous.

What I’m watching:  I watched the first episode of Luke Cage, and can we talk about that soundtrack?!  Also, Misty Knight is the new queen of my heart.

What I’m reading:  Mostly stuff for my lit review–but it’s all about superheroes, so I’m actually having way too much fun with it.  I’ve learned so much about the X-Men and Captain America just in the last few days.  (I know, I know, of course I of all people would find a way to make this degree all about superheroes.  Sorry not sorry.)

Oh yeah, and this.

20161006_101912

Hopefully nobody on the bus saw me taking this picture…

I’m only a few pages into it, though, because of everything else I have to do, so no spoilers if you’ve read it!

Coffee:  Finch on Locke, formerly Johnny’s Coffee.  They were advertising their cinnamon brown butter latte, which sounded too good to pass up.

20161008_171351

I loved it.  It was deliciously mild, not too cinnamon-y.

20161008_17060220161008_170553

That second picture was taken about two minutes before a train roared right past the coffee shop.

 

Food:  Since I’ve been at home so much, I’ve mainly been eating leftover chicken and burrito bowls.  I do want to give a shoutout to Bridges Cafe, though.  I’ve been there twice now, and I love the atmosphere.  The samosas they serve there are huge, too, though a bit saltier than the ones at Taro.

Music:

That’s all I’ve got for now!  I’ll be in Iowa for the latter half of this coming week (whether I’ll talk about that in next week’s blog post, I’m not sure just yet), but in the meantime, I’m hoping to make it to Toronto on Wednesday to snapchat my way through the Art Gallery of Ontario.  You can follow along @toboldlywrite if you want, but I’ll be posting a recap of those shenanigans next week for sure.  Adieu!

One thought on “Canada, week 6

Leave a Reply

