Canada, week 1

Standard

Subtitle:  Holy Crap, This Is Actually Happening

Hello from Hamilton!

20160905_114925

I’ve only been here a week, but it feels like longer than that.  So much has happened already.  To be honest, I’m not entirely sure how to sum up this week in a blog post, but here are some highlights:

The moment I landed in Toronto:

20160830_155854

This is the face of someone who has no idea how frickin’ long she’ll spend getting past immigration and customs at Pearson…

Super cushy hotel room:

20160901_100331

Shoutout to my parents for putting me up here until I moved into my apartment.

The best pillow ever, which is a throw pillow rather than a proper bed pillow but see if I care:

Screenshot (September 5, 2016 1-16 PM)

 

Sights of the week: there are a lot of beautiful little churches in my neighborhood. Weirdly, that more than anything makes this place feel like home. I live across the street from this one:

20160904_075809

And these two are just up Cline Ave.

20160903_105719

20160903_105725

There are two Jewish temples near my apartment as well. This is one of them, Temple Anshe Sholom.

20160905_120259

Also, another thing I’ve noticed while out and about:  black-furred squirrels!  What’s with that?

Coffee of the week:  My Dog Joe.  One of two coffee shops in Westdale Village, an easy walk from my apartment.  I hung out there briefly this morning and did some reading.

20160905_101654

You know, just a little light reading.

Food of the week:  Williams Fresh Cafe, five minutes from my apartment, across from the McMaster Children’s Hospital.  It has the vibe of a First Watch but the menu selection of a Whole Foods deli.  I’m in love.

Music of the week:

I also stumbled on a concert during WestFest (again, in Westdale Village) on Saturday night, and I pretty much discovered my new favorite band.  Busty and the Bass, a nine-piece act from Montreal, reminds me a lot of Deluxe.  Here’s just one track they played at WestFest…

Tomorrow is the first day of classes for undergrads, but I don’t start classes till the 12th.  I have to get some pretty crucial errands done, but I plan to cram as much adventure as I possibly can into the next week.  At least one art museum, the McMaster campus itself, probably Toronto on Wednesday, Supercrawl on Friday… it’s going to be a jam-packed week.  Till next time!

9 thoughts on “Canada, week 1

  1. Lynn Dawson

    Hey Whitney! Glad to hear from you! I was wondering how your adventure was going. Have a great week – can’t wait to hear about it. Lynne

    • Hi Lynne!! I’d honestly been meaning to send that email for a whole week and life kept getting in the way, ha. I’ve been having a fantastic week, though! Next week’s recap is going to be chock full of excitement 🙂

  2. Did you subscribe? If you view–well, any page, I think, but for sure the home page, there should be a teensy little dark gray button in the bottom right corner of the page. Hover over it and it should expand, revealing a field where you can input your email address. Then you’ll be notified by email every time I post. 🙂

    • Lynne Dawson

      I did, but maybe it’s a firewall thing. Anyway, I saw week 2 and 3. Sounds like you are having an amazing time. I’m very happy for you.

      • Quite possibly. The emails might have ended up in your spam folder, who knows.
        Oh, I’m having a wonderful time!! It’s hard to believe it’s been less than a month since I got here–I’ve done so much and seen so much already. If this is what my first month is like, the year is going to be unbelievable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

