Adventures in Sarkeys

Standard

Or, That One Time I Almost Crashed a Meeting.

(Sorry it’s been ages.  School’s really taking the mickey out of me this semester.)

Anyway!  Last year, my Spanish 1 class was in Sarkeys Energy Center for some weird reason (seriously, though, who puts a Spanish class in the energy building?).  But anyway, Sarkeys is probably the tallest building on the OU campus.  Looks like this:

Image from mpge.ou.edu.

Yeah, huge building.  So anyway, Spanish was my last class either of the day or for a while that semester on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.  I sometimes liked to walk around and explore the building after class, just ’cause.  One day, I decided that it would be a great idea to climb up one of the mammoth central staircases all the way to the top floor and see what the view was like from there.

…well, I gave up on the stairs around floor 7.  Not entirely my fault, mind – those stairs are so numerous and steep that I felt as if I were stabbing my calves with small knives every time I took a step.  Anyway, I left the staircase and got on an elevator, punched the button reading “15,” and waited.

Ding.

The elevator door opened, and I honestly thought for a second that I’d walked into Mad Men.

I saw a posh, crimson-carpeted reception area with a mahogany desk.  No one was at the desk, thankfully.  But behind this reception area was a glass wall.  Through this wall, I could see between ten and fifteen businessmen in suits sitting around a table, obviously having some sort of important meeting.

I panicked.  No, seriously.  I flattened myself against the wall of the elevator, out of sight of the businessmen, and mashed the Door Close button about ten times, thinking something along the lines of OHGODOHGODOHGODOHGOD the whole time.  Finally, the door closed, and I went down to the ground floor and made my escape.

So yeah, that’s the story of how I almost crashed an important business meeting in Sarkeys.

Leave a Reply

